Books

Black Fridays

Black Fridays
Michael Sears
Price: £
8.99
  • Paperback
Published: 
8 Sep 2016
ISBN: 
9780715651155
Pages: 
344
Genre: 
  • Crime & Thriller
Available from:

Meet Jason Stafford, a former Wall Street hotshot who has made some bad moves and paid the price. After two years in prison, Jason is no longer welcome on Wall Street. But due to his financial crime expertise, one firm wants him to quietly look for irregularities in the books of one of their junior traders, whose body was just pulled from the Long Island Sound.

Raising an autistic five-year-old alone, Stafford can’t refuse the lucrative offer. The job is supposed to last two weeks, tops. But soon he’s facing threats and intimidation, and more people are dying. Stafford must fight for his life—while struggling to save his son from a different kind of danger…

Black Fridays is the first in an explosive new series, perfect for fans of Peter James, John Grisham and Lee Child.

Reviews

‘One of the best books I’ve read this year’ John Sandford

Black Fridays has it all: superb writing, a riveting plot, and a hero I’m still thinking about days afterward. A must read!’ Tess Gerritsen

‘An absorbing first novel, a financial thriller with an unusually emotional heart … an exciting yet often moving tale’ The Times

‘An exciting and fascinating tale of big money and even bigger crime. More than a gripping procedural, it's a moving, deeply human story’ Joseph Finder

‘An extraordinary writer’ Lisa Gardner

Michael Sears

About Michael Sears

Michael Sears spent over twenty years on Wall Street, rising to become a managing director at Paine Webber and Jefferies & Co., before leaving the business in 2005. He is at work on a third book featuring Jason Stafford and his son.

Titles by Michael Sears
Other titles by Michael Sears

Black Fridays

Black Fridays
Michael Sears
Price: £
12.99
  • Paperback
Published: 
18 Jul 2013
ISBN: 
9780715645215
Pages: 
352
Genre: 
  • Fiction
Available from:

Jason Stafford is a former Wall Street hotshot who made some bad moves, paid the price with two years in prison, and is now trying to put his life back together. He’s unemployable, until an investment firm asks him to look into possible problems left by a junior trader who died recently in an accident. What he discovers is big – there are problems, all right, the kind that get you killed.

But it’s not his only concern. Stafford has another quest as well: to reclaim his five-year-old son, ‘the Kid’, from his unstable ex-wife, and then learn just what it means to make a life with him. The things Stafford discovers about himself in the process are every bit as gripping as his investigation, and when the two threads of his life come together – the results are unforgettable.

Black Fridays marks the arrival of a remarkable new writer.

Reviews

‘One of the best books I’ve read this year’ John Sandford

Black Fridays has it all: superb writing, a riveting plot, and a hero I’m still thinking about days afterward. A must read!’ Tess Gerritsen

‘An absorbing first novel, a financial thriller with an unusually emotional heart … an exciting yet often moving tale’ The Times

‘An exciting and fascinating tale of big money and even bigger crime. More than a gripping procedural, it's a moving, deeply human story’ Joseph Finder

‘An extraordinary writer’ Lisa Gardner

Michael Sears

About Michael Sears

Michael Sears spent over twenty years on Wall Street, rising to become a managing director at Paine Webber and Jefferies & Co., before leaving the business in 2005. He is at work on a third book featuring Jason Stafford and his son.

Titles by Michael Sears
Other titles by Michael Sears